Colonial First State

FirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super

Choice product58 investment optionsPublic offer
Figures published by APRAThe Australian Prudential Regulation Authority supervises superannuation funds and publishes a yearly package of product statistics. For Choice products it covers fees and per-option investment returns, and the annual performance test where the option is covered by it. Superannuation is not part of the Consumer Data Right, so unlike the banking and energy products on this site these figures update once a year rather than daily. in the annual Choice Comprehensive Product Performance publication, for the year ended 30 Jun 2026
Total fees on $50,000
$155 to $640 a year0.31% to 1.28% of a $50,000 balance
Across every published option
Administration fees on $50,000
$85 a year0.17% of a $50,000 balance
Across every published option
Investment options
58
55 open to new members, 3 closed
APRA performance test
39 of 39 passed
19 not covered by the test

This product at its cheapest investment option charges less than the median Choice product, which costs $375 a year on a $50,000 balance.

APRA does not publish a net return on a $50,000 balance for Choice products, so there is no single return figure for this product. Investment returns are published per option, so they appear in the table below against the option and the measure they were taken with. Returns describe what has already been earned. They are not a forecast.

Fund and Product Details

Offered byColonial First State
TrusteeAvanteos Investments Limited
FundColonial First State FirstChoice Superannuation Trust
Type of fundRetail fund Run by a bank, insurer or investment company, which earns a profit from running it as well as paying returns to members. Anyone can generally join one.
Who can joinAnyone can join this fund
Product typeChoice, where the member or their adviser selects the investment option, rather than MySuper, which is the default option an employer pays into
Investment menusFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu
Investment options58 published, of which 3 are closed to new members
APRA annual performance testAPRA tested 39 of this product’s investment options and recorded 39 as a pass and 0 as a fail. A further 19 options are not covered by the test.
Published inTrustee-directed, not offered through a platform (39 options, returns as NIR); Externally-directed, not offered through a platform (19 options, returns as NIR)
Member assets across options$17.7b

Fees and returns by investment option

APRA publishes a separate set of figures for every investment option inside this product, which is why the fees at the top of the page are shown as a range rather than a single number. Options appear in the order the fund published them, not ranked.

This product appears in two of APRA’s publications, which cover different things: only one of them is within scope of the annual performance test. Its options are shown in separate tables below, each headed with the publication it came from.

Trustee-directed, not offered through a platformReturns published as Net investment return (NIR)

39 investment options
Fees and returns for each investment option published under Trustee-directed, not offered through a platform. Returns are Net investment return.
Investment optionGrowth assets Total fees Admin feesNIR 5yr NIR 7yrNIR 10yrAPRA test Member accounts
CFS BalancedFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu75%-90%1.06%0.17%5.83%6.64%6.99%Pass4,610
CFS ConservativeFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu40%-60%0.97%0.17%3.40%3.67%3.90%Pass4,390
CFS DefensiveFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu0%-40%0.89%0.17%2.33%2.34%2.62%Pass2,030
CFS DiversifiedFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu40%-60%1.00%0.17%4.79%5.34%5.58%Pass1,060
CFS Enhanced Index BalancedFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu75%-90%0.70%0.17%7.35%7.39%7.83%Pass12,540
CFS Enhanced Index ConservativeFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu40%-60%0.61%0.17%4.03%4.04%4.34%Pass5,060
CFS Enhanced Index DiversifiedFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu40%-60%0.65%0.17%5.69%5.76%6.13%Pass5,100
CFS Enhanced Index GrowthFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu75%-90%0.74%0.17%8.30%8.29%Not yet reportablePass5,240
CFS Enhanced Index High GrowthFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu90%-100%0.79%0.17%9.84%9.58%10.14%Pass8,360
CFS Enhanced Index ModerateFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu60%-75%0.68%0.17%6.58%6.66%7.05%Pass2,860
CFS Fixed InterestFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu0%-40%0.80%0.17%0.22%0.66%1.46%Pass6,800
CFS Geared Growth PlusFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu90%-100%1.28%0.17%10.80%11.76%13.17%Pass1,560
CFS GrowthFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu75%-90%1.10%0.17%6.34%7.26%7.69%Pass19,320
CFS High GrowthFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu90%-100%1.18%0.17%7.65%8.66%9.30%Pass6,050
CFS Index BalancedFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu75%-90%0.31%0.17%6.42%Not yet reportableNot yet reportablePass*5,070
CFS Index ConservativeFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu40%-60%0.31%0.17%3.70%3.87%Not yet reportablePass2,400
CFS Index DiversifiedFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu60%-75%0.31%0.17%5.03%5.35%Not yet reportablePass3,270
CFS Index GrowthFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu75%-90%0.31%0.17%7.22%7.69%Not yet reportablePass6,360
CFS Index High GrowthFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu90%-100%0.31%0.17%8.68%Not yet reportableNot yet reportablePass*6,040
CFS Index ModerateFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu60%-75%0.31%0.17%5.73%Not yet reportableNot yet reportablePass*2,150
CFS Lifestage 1945-49FirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu40%-60%0.59%0.17%Not yet reportableNot yet reportableNot yet reportablePass*30
CFS Lifestage 1950-54FirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu40%-60%0.58%0.17%Not yet reportableNot yet reportableNot yet reportablePass*80
CFS Lifestage 1955-59FirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu40%-60%0.59%0.17%Not yet reportableNot yet reportableNot yet reportablePass*120
CFS Lifestage 1960-64FirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu60%-75%0.60%0.17%Not yet reportableNot yet reportableNot yet reportablePass*210
CFS Lifestage 1965-69FirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu60%-75%0.61%0.17%Not yet reportableNot yet reportableNot yet reportablePass*210
CFS Lifestage 1970-74FirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu75%-90%0.61%0.17%Not yet reportableNot yet reportableNot yet reportablePass*240
CFS Lifestage 1975-79FirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu75%-90%0.61%0.17%Not yet reportableNot yet reportableNot yet reportablePass*250
CFS Lifestage 1980-84FirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu90%-100%0.60%0.17%Not yet reportableNot yet reportableNot yet reportablePass*370
CFS Lifestage 1985-89FirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu90%-100%0.61%0.17%Not yet reportableNot yet reportableNot yet reportablePass*390
CFS Lifestage 1990-94FirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu90%-100%0.61%0.17%Not yet reportableNot yet reportableNot yet reportablePass*440
CFS Lifestage 1995-99FirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu90%-100%0.61%0.17%Not yet reportableNot yet reportableNot yet reportablePass*550
CFS Lifestage 2000-04FirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu90%-100%0.61%0.17%Not yet reportableNot yet reportableNot yet reportablePass*530
CFS Lifestage 2005-09FirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu90%-100%0.60%0.17%Not yet reportableNot yet reportableNot yet reportablePass*1,030
CFS ModerateFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu60%-75%1.04%0.17%5.24%5.92%6.25%Pass16,110
CFS Real ReturnFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu60%-75%1.03%0.17%Not yet reportableNot yet reportableNot yet reportablePass*150
CFS Select BalancedFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menuClosed to new members40%-60%0.97%0.17%4.77%5.16%5.67%Pass3,680
CFS Select ConservativeFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menuClosed to new members40%-60%0.84%0.17%3.46%3.79%4.21%Pass3,160
CFS Select DiversifiedFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menuClosed to new members75%-90%1.08%0.17%6.12%6.66%7.24%Pass6,350
CFS Thrive+ Sustainable GrowthFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu75%-90%0.93%0.17%Not yet reportableNot yet reportableNot yet reportablePass*290

NIR is the net investment return: what the investments earned after investment fees and tax, before administration fees come out. Fees are shares of the balance, shown against the $50,000 balance APRA reports them at. A dash means the figure was not reported, usually because the option does not have enough history for the period. It does not mean a return of zero.

Externally-directed, not offered through a platformReturns published as Net investment return (NIR). Not covered by the annual performance test

19 investment options
Fees and returns for each investment option published under Externally-directed, not offered through a platform. Returns are Net investment return.
Investment optionGrowth assets Total fees Admin feesNIR 5yr NIR 7yrNIR 10yrMember accounts
AZ Sestante ConservativeFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu40%-60%0.74%0.17%3.55%3.55%Not yet reportable60
AZ Sestante DiversifiedFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu60%-75%0.85%0.17%4.42%4.47%Not yet reportable170
AZ Sestante GrowthFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu75%-90%0.95%0.17%6.14%6.09%Not yet reportable280
Acadian Defensive IncomeFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu0%-40%0.61%0.17%6.24%4.42%3.69%1,570
Context Capital Long TermFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu90%-100%0.90%0.17%Not yet reportableNot yet reportableNot yet reportable310
Context Capital Medium TermFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu60%-75%0.90%0.17%Not yet reportableNot yet reportableNot yet reportable310
Context Capital Short TermFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu0%-40%0.78%0.17%Not yet reportableNot yet reportableNot yet reportable300
Daintree Core IncomeFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu0%-40%0.61%0.17%3.83%3.36%3.37%2,500
Drummond Dynamic PlusFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu90%-100%1.01%0.17%Not yet reportableNot yet reportableNot yet reportable670
Lonsec Core Plus BalancedFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu60%-75%0.85%0.17%Not yet reportableNot yet reportableNot yet reportable30
Lonsec Core Plus GrowthFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu75%-90%Not publishedNot publishedNot yet reportableNot yet reportableNot yet reportable20
Lonsec Core Plus High GrowthFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu90%-100%0.99%0.17%Not yet reportableNot yet reportableNot yet reportable100
Pendal Monthly Income PlusFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu0%-40%0.96%0.17%2.71%2.54%3.02%2,310
Pendal Sustainable BalancedFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu75%-90%1.20%0.17%2.92%4.76%5.98%1,050
Perpetual Balanced GrowthFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu75%-90%1.27%0.17%5.13%5.96%6.36%2,080
Perpetual Conservative GrowthFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu40%-60%1.15%0.17%2.98%3.29%3.71%970
Perpetual Diversified GrowthFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu60%-75%1.25%0.17%3.96%4.57%5.06%620
Perpetual Diversified Real ReturnFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu75%-90%1.17%0.17%Not yet reportableNot yet reportableNot yet reportable650
Schroder Real ReturnFirstChoice Wholesale Personal Super menu75%-90%1.15%0.17%5.01%4.85%4.70%5,090

NIR is the net investment return: what the investments earned after investment fees and tax, before administration fees come out. Fees are shares of the balance, shown against the $50,000 balance APRA reports them at. A dash means the figure was not reported, usually because the option does not have enough history for the period. It does not mean a return of zero. APRA’s annual performance test does not cover options in this publication, so there is no test column.

Figures on this page are published by APRA in its annual Comprehensive Product Performance publication. This page is general advice only, not personal advice. It does not take into account your objectives, financial situation or needs. Fees are shown as a share of a $50,000 balance because that is the basis APRA reports them on, and your own balance, insurance cover and contributions will change what you actually pay and earn. APRA’s Choice publications cover trustee-directed products and non-platform externally-directed products, so an investment option you hold may not appear here. Read the fund’s Product Disclosure Statement and Target Market Determination before making any decision. CompareThat is a comparison service and is not a superannuation fund or a financial adviser. No one has paid for this product to appear here or for the position it holds in our listings.

Back to All Choice Products or compare MySuper products.

Important information

Find out moreShow less

Fees and returns shown are the figures published in APRA’s annual product performance publications, expressed as a percentage of a $50,000 account balance. They are updated when APRA republishes, not daily, and fees a fund charges may have changed since. Returns are what a product has already earned after fees and tax. Past performance is not an indicator of future performance. Before acting on any information shown here, you should confirm the fees, returns and product information with the fund.

We do not compare every MySuper product available in Australia, and this table does not compare every feature that may be relevant to you. Products are selected for relevance to the table and to the filters applied. They are not suggestions or recommendations, and the order they appear in is not a ranking of suitability. Changing the filters will surface further relevant products. See how we sort and rank products.

No product in this table is a sponsored placement, and no fund pays us for a click through from this table. A fund can pay for a sponsored placement, and any product in one is marked “Sponsored Placement” wherever it appears. Payment never decides which products we show, and it never changes the fees, returns or other figures, which come from APRA. See how we make money and our advertiser disclosure.

This information is general in nature. It does not take into account your objectives, financial situation or needs, and it is not a recommendation to apply for or hold any particular product. You should read the fund’s Product Disclosure Statement and Target Market Determination before deciding, and consider whether the product suits your age, your other super and your circumstances. CompareThat compares products. We do not arrange, approve or process applications.